Amy's Vegan Venture

Living an animal-lover lifestyle in a McDiet world

Friend or food?

on April 26, 2015

To eat or not to eat. That is the question.    

Now as I reflect on my life as an omnivore, I am disgusted that I ate dead (previously abused and tortured) animals. There’s no sugar-coating it. The way meat is advertised objectifies the body of this innocent animal. From the breast, to the ribs, to even the innards. Go to China… eat a dog, monkey brain, or even camel hump. I’m so glad the American culture hasn’t adopted these practices. But still, I’m not satisfied. Change needs to come.

The boys and I went on a play date on Thursday to Rancho San Antonio Space Preserve in Los Altos. We had a great time exploring nature: creek, hawk, maybe poison ivy… Here are pictures of my sweet animal lovers.

Then we came across Deer Hollow Farm. Cute, but definitely not for real animal lovers. Not vegan. I had to hold back my negative comments about the signs. My friends don’t want to hear my honest thoughts. I just don’t know them we’ll enough. But I had to take pictures. What’s wrong (in terms of animal rights) with these pictures?

            

I mean, really?! Brainwashing generation after generation that these animals don’t have rights. That they are objects: meat, milk, eggs, leather, fur, brushes, and even soap.

We have two dogs, Brutus & Pepper. What makes them more significant than a pig, cow, or chicken?


One response to “Friend or food?

  1. Rachel-Elaine says:

    Agreed. They start them young so to have customers. Really young children don’t see the connection between a hamburger and a cow or a chicken strip with a chicken. So the meat industry knows this and is using it to create customers.

    Great blog by the way.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment